Grace | Stations of the Cross | April 2003

Station 1: Jesus is condemned to death
Walking towards the station breaks a sensor beam that triggers the sound of a jeering crowd. On the TV are washing hands and a meditation.

Station 2: Jesus carries his cross
'Think of a sin you wish to offload onto Jesus and to receive help and forgiveness for. Write it in pencil on a cross and carry it with you. At station 11 there will be instructions on how to offload it.'

Station 3: Jesus falls the first time

Right: Station 5: Simon of Cyrene carries Jesus' cross
Add a stone symbolising your sin to the rucksack. Put it on to feel the burden.

Station 6: Veronica wipes Jesus' face
The non-biblical tradition is that Veronica wiped the sweat and blood from Jesus' face. The cloth she used then bore the image of the face of Christ.

Piecing together an image of Christ painted on rectangles of silk.

Station 7: Jesus falls a second time

Station 8: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

Station 9: Jesus falls a third time

Station 11: Jesus is nailed to the cross
Nail the little cross you made at station 2 to the big cross.


Right: Station 12: Jesus dies
Flowers are tied to the mesh like the scene of a road accident or street murder. A meditation on Christ's death plays on the computer.

Station 13: Jesus is taken down from the cross
This evokes a military field hospital [the Iraq war had just taken place] with empty bed. The monitor is flatlining.

Right: Station 14: Jesus is laid in the tomb
Outside, we lay a stone on the tomb and light a candle.

Jonny and Mike serve in the cafe.

<< back